2007 Slatt Fellows named

Author: Economics News

Five University of Notre Dame students are the recipients of the 2007 Vincent P. Slatt Fellowship awards for undergraduate research in the field of energy systems and processes, according to Joan F. Brennecke, Keating-Crawford Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

slatt 2007

They are: Joseph Basconi and Shawn Coleman, both sophomores in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Patrick Brown, a sophomore from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Kyle Kron, a sophomore in the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering; and Felipe Witchger, a junior pursuing energy studies and economics

Currently in its second year, the Vincent P. Slatt Fellowship was created by 1980 Notre Dame graduate Christopher Slatt and his wife, Jeanine Slatt, in honor of Christopher's father, Vincent P. Slatt, a 1943 alumnus and the founder of the National Rural Utilities Finance Corporation (CFA). CFC provides financing for more than 1,050 electric cooperatives which serve more than 39 million people nationwide (12 percent of U.S. consumers) and account for approximately 5 percent of the country's electricity generating capacity.